Trendsofnigera is online newspaper where you get latest entertainment news updates from Nigeria.

2023: 15 guber candidates sign peace accord in Oyo

From Oluseye Ojo, Ibadan

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State and 14 other governorship candidates in the state on Friday signed a peace accord towards peaceful conduct of the 2023 general elections in the state.

The signing of the peace accord took place at the headquarters of Oyo State Police Command, Eleyele, Ibadan. Three political parties, it was learnt, did not show up for the signing of the peace agreement.

The exercise took place in the presence of the Commissioner of Police in the state, Adebowale Williams;  Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) for the state, Dr Adeniran Tella; a former governor of the state and the Otun Olubadan of Ibadanland, Senator Rashidi Ladoja; as well as various security agencies and critical stakeholders.

Apart from Makinde of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), the governorship candidates of Accord, Chief Adebayo Adelabu; New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), Joshua Popoola; and Labour Party (LP), Taofeek Akinwale and others personally signed the peace agreement. The gubernatorial candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Teslim Folarin, was represented by his running mate, Dr. David Okunlola.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.